reliability of foam block transport

I’ve been cartopping my kayak with a foam block/strap kit for a few years, usually on 20 minute-at-a-time trips, on local roads, so far without any problem. In a few weeks I’m thinking about cartopping with my blocks on about a two hour trip, on highways, to get to my launch destination. I’m a little worried about the kit’s reliability on such a trip. Anybody have experience with this kind of drive? Thanks!

Stop and Check Occasionally
The longer the boat sits on the foam, the more the foam squashes flat. You will likely have to snug up your straps a time or two.

Bow and stern lines
You may want to consider doubling up bow and stern lines (center of the roof to both sides) if you are really concerned.

Cheers,

Jed

7 Hours, Highway speed
I made a seven Hour non stop from my home to So. Missouri (Eleven Point River), with the typical Block and strap setup. Average speed was somewhere between 60/65 MPH. I was cartopping a Carolina 14.5, upright.

DOUBLE UP…use TWO cinch straps, (Can’t hurt to add a little redundancy)…use the bumper tiedowns, so IF anything goes wrong, you have secondary control of the boat till you can get stopped.

One additional note: If you want to avoid going stark raving mad from the thrumming of the straps in the wind, make sure you put a twist on both sides of the boat between the top of the boat and the door frame (Twisting the strap once on each side eliminates the vibration).

I wouldn’t trust my yaks or canoes
to foam blocks unless I was just going around the corner!

If you value your boat use a rack system with double looped cam-lock buckle straps.

Cheers,

JackL

Foam blocks
I had issues with transporting my yak accross country with foam blocks so I bought Thule racks. But I use the foam blocks on my Thule. If this is your only trip of that distance, then they will work well enough. If you have the money, racks are quite nice as well. They make your car look better too.

Scott