Repairing Royalex damaged spots

Hello everyone,

I recently purchased my first canoe, a used Old Town Penobscot 16. There are some things I’d like to fix and update, but these spots are my first priority as they need to be patched up. I’ve read several similar Royalex repair posts but I want to make sure mine is the same before doing anything as I am new to repairing this and don’t want to mess it up further. Are the areas shown the inner ABS layer or is that the foam layer? If it’s the ABS, can I just fill with G-Flex epoxy, sand and then paint over or will I need to add a fiberglass patch as well? Any help is greatly appreciated!

It is hard to be certain from your photos but I think what you are seeing is the outer solid layer of ABS where the green outer vinyl layer has been abraded away. But the farthest outboard area of where looks a bit worse. I don’t see anything that is obviously exposed foam core but you should be able to tell by looking at the boat in the flesh. The foam core will have a very trabecular or “spongy” appearance.

However, even it there is no exposed foam core at this point the outer solid layer may have been thinned out by abrasion. I would push in firmly with your thumb over all of the tan areas. If any feel spongy then the outer solid ABS layer has been thinned. If that is the case I would probably apply an abrasion (skid) plate. Otherwise you can just clean it up and paint the areas of exposed ABS to prevent UV degradation. Any paint that closely matches the color of the vinyl would be OK.

The Kevlar felt skid plates are very popular. Personally, I hate them for a number of reasons. If you do need to apply an abrasion plate you might find this thread on another message board to be helpful: Skid plate suggestions - Canoetripping.net Forums.

Search Cboats.net for some good info.
Kevlar felt is heavy, ugly, slow and decreases your rocker.