Replace Looksha Sport LV with a used...

I’ve been paddling a Necky Looksha Sport LV for about four years, and I’d like to get a used kayak that will let me cover more distance in an afternoon and maybe be more challenging to paddle.

I’m 5’5", around 155 lb.s, and will probably be using the boat most often in bays and estuaries (the area in the photo at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suisun_Bay#/media/File:Wpdms_nasa_photo_san_pablo_bay.jpg) on windy days. I’d prefer a longer and skinnier boat with bulkheads fore and aft and maybe a drop skeg (I’ve been using the rudder on the LSLV as a drop skeg). I probably won’t get to spend more than a day this year camping out of the boat, so I don’t need a lot of volume.

My budget is around $500, more if I wait a couple of months. Some of the boats on craigs (https://sfbay.craigslist.org/search/sso?query=kayak&sort=date&max_price=1200&max_boat_length_overall=19&boat_propulsion_type=3) close to my budget and within a couple hours driving distance are a Necky Looksha IV, a Necky Eskia, a Perception Carolina, WS Tempest 165, and others.

I’m trying to narrow down the list so that I won’t spend a lot of my very limited time looking at boats that don’t fit me. Any suggestions?

Fit
I don’t know what the market will present to you at your proposed budget but the Eakia, Catolina and Looksha IV are going to be much bigger volume craft than the fit of what you’re used to.

See you on the water,

Marshall

The River Connection, Inc.

Hyde Park, NY

www.the-river-connection.com

fb.me/theriverconnection

looksha IV
My wife has a kevlar Looksha IV, which she really loves. It is a ruddered boat. A few years ago we paid ~$1400 for it. A used rotomolded Looksha IV should be significantly cheaper. As Marshal suggests, be sure you fit. If it feels tippy compared to your old boat that will disappear … as you probably realize.