Replacing Gunwhales

Is it difficult to replace gunwhales? Canoe is kevlar with ashgunwhales & we are considering purchasing this canoe, but were told it needs gunwhales replaced!

Also must they be replaced with same material?

What is cheaper, or even, a better material?

Thanks for any help, I am a newbie and this is my first canoe purchase.

It is a Mad River Explorer, 16’.

Jo

gunwales
Gunwales are extremely important for stiffness of a canoe, acting like the flanges in an I-beam. They must be continuous and tightly fastened. If you have basic woodlworking skills, it is not too hard to scarf the pieces together and fit them to the hull. The bow and stern are a bit trickier, so just look at how the gunwales were fastened and how they were pieced togehter at the stems and you should be able to determine if this is within your level of ability.

Replacing Gunwales
You can order vinyal gunwales, they can be pop-rivited in place. I’ve never done this and am not sure who to order from. You could try to contact MR.

The route I have gone twice in the past is replacing the ash with new pieces. This is tough as ash in lenths that long are hard to find. If you do end up splicing pieces together make sure you do so as far away from the middle as you can. Treat the wood with oil of some kind before installing, especially the side that will be connecting to the hull.

I ordered gunwales from http://www.porterswoodworking.com/accessories.html

I had to call them as these pieces aren’t listed on their website. Probably is that shipping will kill you due to length. Good luck.

dougd

step x step