Replacing Kinked Skeg Cable???

I am sure this is easy but I have never done it before so I will ask first…

I just picked up a Kajaksport Viviane. It has a kinked cable that I need to fix.

I have a skeg cable for an NDK boat which I assume is the same diameter but I guess I will have to check.

So how do I do this? Any tips?

thanks

Matt

Kajak Sport skeg
The Kajak Sport skeg cable is permanently attached to the skeg. The complete assembly is sold by Global Outfitters; it was $45 several years ago.

I heard of someone who replaced the cable by cutting it off flush at the skeg, drilling a hole in the skeg next to the old cable attachment point, and then using epoxy to affix a new cable in the hole. I don’t know how well it worked or held up.

C’mon, Matt–where’s the full review?
You bought a new kayak and haven’t posted your impressions yet!

So does this one replace any boat or is it another addition? How many are you up to now?

Another option is…
…to duplicate the system used on other boats. Specifically, you need a hole for the skeg cable to fit in, then you drill another hole at an angle to it, that intersects with it. Tap it, then install a stainless set screw to hold the cable in place. When you need to to change a cable, you loosen the set screw and pull the cable out.

IMO, bonding cables to skegs is nonsense and the only purpose is to try to sell unnecessary, expensive replacement parts. There is no benefit to the boat owner whatsoever.

Review…
Haven’t paddled it yet. Just got it yesterday. Will have it on the water tomorrow.

Also was perhaps trying to go incognito to some extent lest I be accused of being overly obsessesive about boats (okay maybe I’m living in denial).

Matt

skeg cable
the size may be 3mm like Valley or P&H… the closest is 1/8 I believe but that is still smaller…

you can order cable

http://www.shearwaterkayaks.com/item_detail/vcp_parts/vcpcable.html