Rescue of SINK from a SOT

I have joined a water rescue team and have been asked to put on kayak training. Much of it will focus on basic paddle skills, but will also delve into rescues. The team’s kayaks are sit on tops, with which I have limited experience.

What are the best techniques to put other kayakers back in their emptied boats when the rescuer is paddling a sit on top? Given our purpose, seems a good idea to have pumps on the SOTs for use in emptying other boats. Any other resources you would recommend specific to sot rescue skills?

Thanks - Jamie

Check this website
http://www.sit-on-topkayaking.com/Articles/Safety/RescueSink.html

One significant error
The pics show the rescuer lifting the bow of the boat over their head, which is not only unnecessary, it’s dangerous. All you need to do is lift it high enough for the coaming to break contact with the water, which is no more than shoulder height.

Thanks to both
exactly what I was looking for. I was wondering about that high lift as well, especially without a deck to cushion the blow if you lost your grip.

Topkayaker Is a Great Site!
Lots of great information there

some minor points to add…
I find it helps to first have the swimmer flip their boat back upright before the proper T rescue starts. Then the rescuer can gently lean his boat toward the victim’s and slide the bow (partly on its side) in front of them then flip it back upside down in one smooth motion. Pulling up an inverted kayak can be hard due to boat shape and the suction formed on the cockpit.

When I have a victim climb in (be sure they wait until you are stable over their boat) I ask them to go over their boat AND REACH FOR MY BOAT. This first encourages a flatter body position on top of the water and avoids much of the torque some victims can place on their kayak which makes your holding it stable harder.

ALso look at the X-Rescue