Research fatigue. Help! Old vs new Explorer, Old Dagger or New Esquif

I’m new here, and recently joined so I could better navigate the forums in search of canoe knowledge.

I am out of steam on my data gathering stage. I am a crazy person and go very hard into researching stuff. I am pretty book smart on specs and history spending weeks reading reviews and forum posts, etc. However, I have very little real paddling experience to go off of.

Now I’ve narrowed down some options and would like community input from experienced paddlers. Please, and thank you.

Part 1

I am recently married we set up a canoe fund in our gift registry and amassed about $4000 to put toward a 1st canoe/paddles/gear. However, spending less is A-OK.

We live in rural eastern California, south of Reno, NV. The nearest places to buy new canoes are Portland, OR (13hrs), and Denver CO (16hrs). We have a trip to Portland planned and the available options I like there are:

Esquif Prospecteur 16 T-Formex ($2000)
Esquif Avalon T-Formex ($2070)
Mad RIver Explorer 16 T-Formex ($1900)
Northwind B16 IXP ($3165)!!!

In Denver they have the Esquif Prospecteur 17 and the Nova Craft Prospector 16 or 17 in Tuff Stuff or Tuff Stuff Exped…but Denver is…far.

Now, on craigslist, I’ve found a Dagger Reflection 16 (in R84?) for $600. Owner says it’s in very good condition, but he hasn’t returned any further texts.

Also found a Mad River Explorer, Vermont made, 1994, royalex, wood gunwales, never been in the water, stored indoors. Lots of pictures. Mint condition. Its a beauty. Only 4.5 hours from my house and selling for $1400.

I’ve found some Old Town Royalex Penobscot 16s as well here and there, in various states of repair.

Any advice on these options? There are pros to the new canoes, but also to the used (see part 2).

Here is our paddling style: