Restoring faded colors on a poly kayak?

-- Last Updated: Mar-02-10 8:10 PM EST --

I recently purchased a 9 year old Current Designs Storm. Unfortunately it was stored outdoors in NY for 4 of those years. What used to be gold is now yellow. I have lots of experience with gelcoat, but plastic is a mystery to me. Is there any way to restore color to a faded poly boat?

First thing I would recommend is
trying some yacht wax on a small portion of the hull. What I use (a 3M product) contains a UV inhibitor, and it stays on pretty well. As you know, wax may make a chalky surface look darker.

None of my poly kayaks got that sunbleached. Maybe there is a slight haze or crazing on the surface. In that case, you could try buffing it off, or using an auto wax that has a very fine abrasive in it.

I don’t know any way to evenly coat a poly kayak with any dye, however tenacious, that would stay on long enough to be worthwhile.

A couple of things . . .
If it is so faded that there is some chalking at the surface, trying some buffing to remove the chalkiness may help. Then apply 303 Aerospace Protectant to restore color and provide UV protection.

If it is all scratched and gouged as well, you might try light-sanding it, followed by carefully going over it with a small propane torch to melt-smooth the surface. By careful, I mean really careful: use brief swirling strokes, moving along before it gets too hot below the “skin layer.”

Good luck, have fun! With a little effort and care, you might be pleasantly surprised.

BTW, before you take it into deep water, you might put it through some rugged paces in shallow water, to make sure the sun exposure has not structurally weakened the craft. Check for cracks at stress points, etc.

I’m tempted to say
are you serious?