Retail returns/used

Do retailers take returns of kayaks and do they resale them at discounted prices? I’m new to kayaking and don’t want to pay retail for my 1st kayak. I can’t seem to find any on Craigs list either. Any knowledge would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

Check the classifieds here
in PA - - and you can’t find a good used boat??

What are you looking for???

Yes, and yes…
Many retailers have demos they discount, as well as returns. I’ve bought 2 kayaks on Craigslist. Exactly what I wanted. Keep looking…something will pop up.

Exactly
"in PA - - and you can’t find a good used boat??"

I’m in western PA, and have been looking for another kayak (just found one too BTW). It seemed like every kayak on these boards in the classifieds was in eastern PA, and NY City area. Your profile shows eastern PA. I only WISH that I was over your way when I was looking. You’re in the middle of a bunch of good used boats. There are some excellent values in used boats out there.

Specialy retail
Paying full price is a good thing. Then you can use the services of the retail shop to get you into the right boat for what you want instead of the cheap boat. Remember the price is more than the boat, it is a commitment from the dealer to be there when you need them. Most time with discounted product, it is buyer beware.

You wouldn’t go to a brain surgeon that advertised half off.

Nermal is right
I wasted a lot of money shopping for bargains, only to find that the equipment I got was not suitable, so I had to sell it for something else.

A good shop will charge a fair price, but it is so worth it for the good advice you get.

ebay radius
Ebay will show you available boats by miles from your zip code. Use the options on left hand window (e.g. 100 mi). Since, most listings are more than a week long, you only need to check back once a week.

If you are looking for a rec. boat, you might do just as well waiting for an end of seaons sale at an outfitter.

Good luck… Tom.