River Current Almanac

I am just getting into the sport and very eager to get out there and connect with nature for a day or three. I am wanting to find an almanac style book (or anything of the sort) that catalogues and lets me check into the speed of current or the rivers in a specific area. I live in North Texas and would really like to take a 2-4 day trip along a slower moving river; somewhere i can take my time (as I am still green to the sport), view the local flora and fauna, do some fishing as I go, and camp along the banks where i see fit. I understand that private property may come into play heavily here, so a guide to trips taken previously by other kayakers is really what I am looking for. Any useful info on the topic would be greatly appreciated.

Southwestpaddler.com, maybe?

– Last Updated: Jan-08-14 3:10 PM EST –

I don't know about almanac or river "speeds", but the Southwest paddler provides a lot of information for paddlers about the rivers of the Southwest. For Texas:

http://southwestpaddler.com/indexTX.html

It includes minimal, ideal, and maximum flow rates for the river sections it covers, with links to USGS up-to-date stream gage information.

Guide books, clubs and aerial photos

– Last Updated: Jan-08-14 2:10 PM EST –