River Runner R5

Hello all, I am new to kayaking and have picked up an old Dimension River Runner R5 kayak. I plan mostly to run flat water with it. At least until I learn more about the sport.

I am looking for any information or insight into this particular kayak. I would really like to be able to get a skeg for it as I understand I will need it for on the lakes.

Any help or info will be greatly appreciated.

Wes

not for flatwater

– Last Updated: Aug-16-13 12:53 PM EST –

From what I recall about those R5's they were a round profiled old-school white water boat, long and with a small cockpit, heavy and really unstable (designed to go fast and be maneuverable in rapids.) Similar to the classic Perception Dancer or an old hand-built fiberglass Augsburger mold slalom boat I used to have. The maker tried to hype them as "suitable for flatwater" for a while but I don't buy it. Slapping deck rigging on a whitewater boat doesn't make it touring worthy.

Even as a moving water boat it was never a worthy match even to others of the era like the Perception Dancer. I did the Cheat River canyon many years ago (Class IV-V) and recall one of the guys having a "tupperware" (semi-clear white) R5 -- he was more out of the boat than in it during that trip.

Comments from those who remember them are "sucked royally" and "a real dog". I doubt you are going to be very happy trying to cruise flatwater in it -- even if you could add a skeg somehow that will not keep it from being squirrelly and not wanting to stay upright. Price was probably right, but there is usually a reason for that. I hope you did not pay more than $75 for it.

HOnestly, you are not going to learn much about modern kayaks and kayaking from attempting to use that boat on lakes. You may develop a more colorful vocabulary, though.

Thanks
I bought it in an auction for 80, so I guess that isn’t too bad. I also bought 3 Lotus kayaks from Lifetime. Sounds like I may be using them more than the old River Runner. LOL