RM sea kayak for my daughter

My daughter is home from college for the summer. She wants to learn sea kayaking with me. She’s pretty adventurous. Rock climbing, back packing, multi day river rafting. Pretty athletic, loves the water. On the University of Oregon water polo team. Life guard and swim instructor for summer job.

She wants to do the real thing, learn to roll, get out in the waves. I’m a novice too, so we’re gonna learn together, roll partners, etc. We’re gonna take a few miles novice paddle trip through the Alder Creek kayak shop this Sunday to make sure she likes it. It’s pretty sure though. Then I want to buy her and me something within a week. The clock’s ticking on our bonding time out on the water.

I think this summer we’ll mostly be on the lake learning to roll, and paddle some of the fingers. Take a couple classes together. At Christmas we’ll probably go out on Alsea bay. Probably no overnight trips until the following year.

For her, we definitely want plastic, and skeg. She’s 5’ 5”, 135 lbs. She sat in a Tempest 170, too big. Chatam 16 fit her just right, except for the seat. She said she could feel the bump in the middle of the seat, like the seat was too big for her. I could get a C16 cheap, tempting. From reviews, I think the C16 would be too slow and maybe harder to roll at 22 inch wide, and a little too low cargo space for all around sea kayaking. And we might have to replace the seat. If she could roll it ok, at the price, maybe we should just buy it and sell it after a year. It would be fine for playing in the waves at the bay or coast. Just not good for distance, and maybe not good for being matched in speed for paddleing the lake fingers. I’d be in a Tempest 180.

Hopefully she’ll get to sit in a Tempest 165 this Sunday, and paddle a T165 and C16. Also might be interested in some of the Valley or CD plastic boats if we find them around and they fit her. Any ideas on specific models?

Thanks,

Paul S.

Valley Avocet / P&H Capella