Rolling advice needed

I have been paddling w/w kayaks for about 5 years and have several boats creek/playboat and one old school boat. I can roll most of the time with no problem.<br />
  This past winter I bought my first touring boat Necky arluk IV and have paddled probably 300 miles total.<br />

I also carved a G/P and I really like it though I’m not sure if it suits my boat.

I finally got around to working on my roll this summer but have found doing my normal roll in the necky I hit the what seems very high backdeck really hard when I lay back. I can roll with a c to c reaching out to the side but I seem to be really working hard to get the boat up.

Any advice as to how to modify my roll/paddle for this boat? Also would there be a big difference if I had a boat that was more suited to the g/p?

GPs sometimes require different
rolling techniques than the paddles you are accustom to using.

What type of roll are you most familiar with? If it is the kind Eric Jackson likes (with a full lay back and then a ‘hip snap’) it will need a bit of tweaking. If it is more like a roll taught by Ken Whiting then it should work if you hold the paddle in an extended position (the ‘normal’ way to hold a GP for rolling).

GPs work best with sweeps, and they will work with you kayak. If you have a video it will be easier to diagnose.

Width?
If I just found the correct measurements, the Arluk IV is 24" wide. That’s on the wide side for a sea kayak, these days anyway. You are generally seeing more like 22" now for a full-out sea kayak. Add in the depth of hull and the way the stabilities tended to work in the older models of sea kayaks, and it may require some tweaking to get your roll as easy for this boat.