Rolling & Eyeglasses

I don’t roll. I’m a beginner. I’m hesitant to learn. I wear glasses. I need glasses. Without them I’m stone blind. I can’t wear contacts.

Does anyone here roll wearing glasses? What do you do, carry a dry cloth in a dry bag to wipe them dry each time.

croakies or Rec Specs
I bought a set of prescription Rec Specs to wear while kayaking. Otherwise I use a good set of croakies for my glasses. I haven’t lost a pair of glasses yet in the thousands of rolls I’ve done. I don’t really carry a cloth though. I just accept the fact that I will have droplets of water in my vision at times. It doesn’t really bother me anymore.

I got the rec specs and have been
very happy with them.

croakies I use them
I wear them also. I’m not afraid of the glasses falling off. It’s the totaly wet lenses after a roll that concerns me.

Rolling

– Last Updated: May-18-06 4:45 PM EST –

For learning, just stow them. Everything happens quite close and not much to see. Blurs should do it - and it will be blurry underwater anyway - though a mask can be helpful while learning too - and these can also be fitted with prescription inserts (but I wouldn't bother unless you also dive).

For normal paddling with some rolling, what Alex said. That, or go buy the cheapest spare pair you can just for paddling? Leave the regular ones home, ashore, in the car...

I could wear contacts, but was always concerned about losing them - and so was pretty mask depended at first for practice. Glasses would have been fine - maybe even better. When I realized everything was the same rolling with eyes opened or closed I went to just closing them (though still nearly as worried about losing them). I much prefer eyes open though - always have, even as a kid when swimming. Some reflexively close their eyes on capsize - I always open mine. It was hard to fight.