rolling results

I have a heated pool at my condo. Took the Q700X for a practice session with wife as photographer. Did about 15 rolls on each side, but of the 30 I missed about 5 on the first attempt, but always succeeded on the second. Studying the photos I saw that I was bringing my body and head up before the boat.

On my next session it was the Ikkuma and I concentrated on leaving the body low. I nailed about 20 rolls on each side without failure.

Today I took the 700 for more practice. To my horror I completely failed on 2 or 3 repeated attempt, exited about 6 times, started over but never rolled at all! What is going on? I have been rolling successfully for 20 years!

thinking too much now?
Was the odd part that you fail many later or that you failed some of the first attempt rolls in the first session? If the latter, then sometimes when you’re newly trying to focus on some key point you let other parts of your roll fall apart that were okay before.

btw, when you see your head come up too soon it isn’t always the real problem but sometimes a symptom after the problem. For example, one common problem is to let your non-sweep hand go to high out of the water (i.e. failed to keep your elbow close to your body) and as a result your blade dives. When you’re blade dives you then get desperate and lift your head. So while keeping the head down may have saved the bad roll it may not have been the main, first cause.

Good luck.

For Me…

– Last Updated: Oct-30-10 6:56 AM EST –

there are really only two kinds of rolls; quick rolls and slow rolls. The key to quick rolls is getting the head high... way up near the surface... then lots of knee/thigh lift to right the boat.

My key for slow, laid back rolls is sweeping the paddle back, then pushing the paddle down and FORWARD for incredible lift. The knee/thigh still help right the boat but the motion is slow and easy.