rolling

I am a beginner kayaker who would really like to learn to roll. The only thing is that I really don’t have anyone in my area that can teach me. Do you have any suggestions on teaching myself to roll. Thanks for your Help.

Bliss

Some Suggestions

– Last Updated: Aug-08-04 7:54 PM EST –

If you can see if you can borrow a whitewater boat that is easy to roll if you don't have one. Buy the video "The Kayak Roll by Kent Ford", find yourself a swimming pool and a face mask. Practice wet exiting and hanging upside down until you are very comfortable, then practice the hip snap for rolling up from the side, using your hands resting gently on the side of the pool for initial support. Do that many, many, many times until you don't lift your head until the boat is under you. Practice tipping over slowly sculling your way down to the water. Have a friend in the pool with you to help you. You probably might want to try an extended paddle roll first or use a paddle float on your paddle until you get the hang of it. If that does not succede try posting on getting together and going paddling here or on Boatertalk.com to find some paddlers in your area. You would be surprised I'll bet there are some folks close to you that would help.

"The Kayak Roll"
My brother taught himself to roll by watching “The Kayak Roll” DVD over and over and over. He would even leave it playing while he slept.

South Coast Kayaks
is over in LA, they are a good group of folks, ACA/BCu sorts. Don’t know what part of MS you are in, but give them a call.

Learning to Roll
In addition to the other suggestions here:

1. Use an extended paddle to begin with.

2. Use a paddle float on an extended paddle. As you become comfortable rolling up on this, practice with less and less air. Eventually do it with no air. Finally, you should be able to roll up without the paddle float.