Rolls. Nose Plugs, and Success

I hope that others will find this information useful or at least mildly interesting (not the part about my height and weight:).

I’m 43 YO, weigh 210 lbs, am 6’1" tall, and own a Necky Zoar Sport; a 14’ boat. I’ve had the boat for many years but only started paddling regularly this summer.

A few months ago, I was given a skirt for this boat. I took my 12 YO daughter to Sand harbor (I live at Lake Tahoe) and told her that if I start banging on the bottom of the boat, to come lift my head out of the water. My first wet exit with a skirt had the tiniest chance of going wrong. It turned out to be no big deal although that clean mountain water sure burned my sinuses. Ouch.

I started practicing braces and even tilting the boat past 90 degrees while in the shallows with my paddle or hand on the bottom.

I bought a nose plug.

And now for the interesting part. Last week, I tried to roll and made it. My paddle touched the bottom so I backed further off shore but then couldn’t do it again. I thought it was a fluke. Last night, after paddling for three miles to Thunderbird Lodge and back in the swells and chop, I got back to the protected part of the harbor and make sure that I won’t touch the bottom with the paddle. I did about 7 rolls on the right and 3 or 4 on the left. Wow.

What I think might be useful for other people to know is:

• I visualized rolling in my head many times over the last month or two.

• I practiced edging and leaning the boat while in the shallows to understand how it felt.

• I practiced bracing with the intent to see how far I could go and get back up. Many times, I did a wet exit and didn’t attempt a roll after inverting. I tried various body positions when bracing and leaning to better understand how that affected my balance and the boat stability.