Romany v Capella

I’ve been paddling a p&h Capella for a couple of years and for absolutely no good reason want to buy another boat (I already have seven). I used an explorer on a recent trip in the San Juans and although I liked the boat, I rarely do more than day paddles / short trips so carrying capacity is a low priority for me. My observation of the Romany is that it’s a bit of a slug. My favorite rough water boat is my Mariner Coaster but it’s a bit slow also. Thoughts on these and others(anas acuta, pintail, etc) would be appreciated.

slug
neither the Romany nor the Explorer will win any speed contests. i have a P&H Sirius that is faster than my Pintail and Explorer. 'course, “fast” is relative. are you looking for surf ski fast?

How big are you?

– Last Updated: Aug-31-05 7:19 AM EST –

If you could give your height and weight... would help. (That is what I meant... too early for me.)

Playful

– Last Updated: Aug-31-05 12:09 PM EST –

A Romany is not about speed on flat water. It excels at rough water handling and responsiveness. You'd find a Romany a lot more playful than a Capella and infinitely more lively than an Explorer.

If you want playfulness and somewhat better speed then I would suggest you try an Avocet.

If you are relatively small and want a truly fun quick boat, you might try a Vela.

average
6’1", 175# Its not that I want a surf ski. I may be searching for that elusive “perfect” boat but would like something with the speed of my capella that handles like my coaster or chatham 16.

kajaksport viking
you might fit into a KS Viking. it’s not the cockpit volume that’s the issue, just the legroom. i’m 5’9" with a relatively long 32" inseam. there’s another inch or so left in the pegs. you could just pad the bulkhead though.