Roof Rack - Length of Kayak

Hello, Im new to kayaks. My question is does it matter how long the kayak is (13 feet versus 16 ft) when I put it on top of a 4runner using either a Thule or Yakima? Am I in danger of it ever coming off? Should I get the hullyrollers or the hullaport? Thank you for your time.

length
Doesn’t really matter. I’ve carried my 19 footer on the roof of my Santa Fe.

I’ve got the rollers and now don’t use them often. On a poly boat it doesn’t matter and does help get them on and off the roof, but they don’t offer the support of the saddles. For my wood boats and skin on frames I only use saddles.

Bill H.

flying kayaks
People cartop boats of 20’ in length or more. Be aware of any overhang when backing up.

If you have a good quality set of crossbars which are properly attached to your vehicle, you do not necessarily need a fancy kayak carrier to transport your boat. Some of the carriers make it easier to load a heavy boat onto your roof if that is an issue. Most of the time, I transport kayaks on the crossbars, either up on their sides using an upright “stacker” bar to hold them up, or flat on the bars. If you carry your boat on the bars, it is probably best to place it deck down, not only to avoid the cockpit filling with water in the rain, but also because if there is a little bit of deformation from tight straps in hot sun, it makes little difference on the deck as opposed to the hull.

Of course there is a danger of the boat coming off. I have seen many boats come off people’s cars and heard about many more. I would recommend a minimum of 4 points of attachment for each boat. Don’t use rubber bungees. There is a lot of force lifting the nose of your kayak up when you travel at highway speeds. Bungees don’t cut it.