Roof Rack Recommendations?

Hi All,

I’ve bought my first kayak this week, and now I need a way to carry it atop a 2-door Honda Civic. I’ve looked at roof racks before, and Yakima and Thule seem to be the primary options for general sporting use.

Is either of these better than the other for transporting a kayak? Some googling suggests that they’re about equivalent, but I’d like to get some first hand knowledge on the subject.

nm
I’ve been installing racks for close to 6 years always recommend Yakima over Thule. Reason being is that the bars are round and I can adjust the saddles to face inside so they fit the shape of the hull. What you’ll more than likely run into with a Thule setup (especially on such a short roofline like you have) is that the further away you spread the bars the more they will face away from one another. Then the cradle will be facing out and away from he center of the kayak. If the cradle isn’t lining up with the hull then it’ll create a pressure point and possibly warp the hull.

Interesting

– Last Updated: May-10-11 1:27 PM EST –

I hadn't thought of that alignment issue on short roofs before, that makes sense.

BTW doesn't 'nm' in the subject line generally mean 'no message'? Just wondering...

To the OP, Yakima and Thule saddles are the most popular, but there are other options that might suit short roof lines better. This is my setup on a Mini - it's a Kayakpro EZ-Vee carrier mounted on factory crossbars:

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l234/carldelo/Pachena%20on%20Mini/Pachena005.jpg

The rest of the photo album is here:
http://s97.photobucket.com/albums/l234/carldelo/Pachena%20on%20Mini/

The drawback is cost, using parts that are less commonly available, and weight. The upside (in my case) is a rock-solid carrier and very quick boat loading, about 5 minutes.