Rooftop rack question

-- Last Updated: Oct-18-16 10:03 PM EST --

Hello all, I am relatively new to kayaking. My wife and I frequent the Florida Keys, and recently we began renting a vacation home that includes a couple of kayaks. So, I purchased a couple of sets of cheap, but well built "J" racks to attach to the factory racks and crossbars of our Lexus RX350, and during our last trip to the Keys, we loaded the yaks up on the roof and hauled them to a destination about 5 miles away. Anyway, I question the strength and stability (and safety) of hauling the yaks on rooftop racks. We really wanted to haul them to other, farther destinations, but I wasn't trustful of the strength of the factory Lexus racks. I also question traveling at highway speeds, with kayaks on the roof. Long story short, I am ordering a couple of kayaks for Christmas, because we have really grown to enjoy yakking, but I'd like some input regarding rooftop racks, hauling long distance, and other thoughts. The yaks I am ordering are 12 footers. I am also open to the idea of buying a cheap trailer and modifying it to carry yaks, such as the inexpensive trailers sold by Northern Tool and Equipment, however, I'd rather utilize rooftop racks preferably. Any input from experienced kayak rooftop haulers would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Factory Roof Racks experience
I have factory roof/r on my Volvo C30. best roof rack I have ever seen. I went from Midwest to Seattle and back this summer with 18 ft SOF on the roof at speeds that peeled some of the poly off the nylon but the kayak and rack stayed on. I was under 80 on the roads were that was the limit. I have straps bolted under the hood to tie the bow down but the stern one tie down

I had a factory roof/r on Saturn VUE that was okay.

Always felt safe at speed limits.