rotated paddles

I’m pretty new at kayaking and was wondering what the difference is between having the paddles facing the same way and having one of them angles differently. I’ve tried paddling with both and don’t really notice much difference. Is it just preference or is there something more to it?

Thanks

The primary reason for feathering
the paddle is to reduce wind resistance on the blade that is not in the water. I’ve found that it helps when ultimate speed is desired but for just putzing around the benefits are negligible.

Feathering?
What I think you’re referring to is called ‘feathering’, where the blades are at an angle from one another.

The purpose behind this is that it makes the paddle more efficient and many people find it easier to paddle this way. If your paddle is feathered to the right (for right-handed people), then you rotate your right wrist on strokes and your left hand is loosely holding the paddle. I think I’ve heard that feathering the blades is more ergonomic as well.

As for myself, I find it more difficult to paddle with feathered blades than anything, so I leave mine un-feathered. My husband prefers his blades feathered. I just can’t seem to get the trick of paddling while rotating my right wrist.

Most paddles are adjustable so that the blades can be feathered. If you’re a lefty, be sure to buy a paddle that can be feathered left – the salesperson should be able to help you figure that out when you go to buy one.

There’s a method to figuring out which way a paddle is feathered – if you stand with one paddle blade at your feet, perpindicular to your toes, you can see the direction of the feathered blade (on top). If the blade is pointing ahead to the right, it’s feathered for a right handed person. Just the opposite and it’s feathered for a left handed person.

I hope all of this rambling makes sense!

Desi

Article that may explain…