Route Suggestions for Apostle Islands?

Hello!

I’m a veteran of several sea kayaking trips on Lake Superior (Pictured Rocks several times, LSPP, Isle Royale circumnavigation) but have never been to the Apostle Islands.

I’ve downloaded all the available info. from the NPS website and am in the trip planning phase for an early September self-supported week-long outing.

Perhaps some of you who have already been there can suggest the attractions not to miss, some of the best campsites, best put-in, etc. Also, if there is a good guidebook on the area, please advise.

[I did a search in the Archives from the past year but it didn’t turn anything up…]

Many thanks,

B.

Devils
Devils Island is one of the best - great lighthouse and I’d say the best sea caves in the Apostles. The campsite on that island is at the other end and a long walk up a hill, so I’d stay at the southernmost site on Rocky Island (1.5 mile crossing?). That’s one of the best campsites too…

Raspberry Island lighthouse has just been restored and opened earlier this year. Land at the sandspit and walk 0.7mi to get to it. No camping on this island, but York has excellent wilderness sites.

Really nice caves and a lighthouse at Sand Island too. All of these would be convenient from Little Sand Bay for free parking and launching. Red Cliff charges $5 per car per night and $5 to launch.

You can call exactly one month before your trip starts to get your permit. I’d recommend doing it that day, first thing in the a.m…

Thanks for the advice!
“You can call exactly one month before your trip starts to get your permit. I’d recommend doing it that day, first thing in the a.m…”

I didn’t realize this–thanks for letting me know…

4 miles
I’d say a lot of the crossings are about 4 miles, maybe a few are a little longer. However, not all areas of the islands are good or even possible landing spots.