Royalex Champlain good as a family boat?

I jumped in a bit over my head with my last canoe purchase (Supernova), I probably could have avoided this if I asked for advice here first. I learned my lesson, so now I would like to draw from the wisdom here before I lay down the cash.

My family is growing and would like to get a larger boat to fit two adults, two young kids, and camping gear/small dog. Mostly lake travel, with plans to do Labrynth Canyon on the Green in a couple years. (I am out in the west.)

So:

1. Is this boat a good fit for my usage?

2. It has tractor seats, which I have never used before…can you kneel in the rear seat, or are they foot forward only? (I have a hard time getting comfortable with my feet out front.)

3. Anything else I should look out for?

Thanks!

Good boat for your usage
1) Yes

2) Not easily, the seats are set low for paddling seated. Depends on your shoe size whether it will be easy to get them under the seat. With a foot brace you may find the seating comfortable, no squirming around like on a bench seat. I regularly spend upwards of 8 hours a day in a tractor seat (in a canoe, not a tractor), and its no problem with a bit of padding. 1/2"closed cell foam.

3) buy a composite hull, better paddling, lighter to carry. You did not mention shallow stoney streams, which are the main reason to buy royalex. The price difference between royalex and kevlar is only a couple trips to the chiropractor, and you are worth that.

Bill

Agree