Royalex vs. kevlar

I apologize ahead of time as I’m a newb here, but certainly not to canoeing, and I’m sure Royalex vs. Kevlar has been debated ad nauseum. My take is that it always boils down to one’s specific needs and expectations. I’m not getting any younger and I need a lighter canoe, tandem 16-17’. I do 90% rivers but no serious white-water. My idea of paddling is keeping the boat straight and letting the current do all the work…that’s why God made rivers! Portages would be rare, man-made, and short. My desire for lighter weight stems from mostly solo loading/unloading (my grandson isn’t quite old enough to help lug, but he’s getting there). Everybody tells me rivers=Royalex, flat water=Kevlar. Impacts with a full head of steam are not a concern, I can read water! I’m more concerned with abrasion from low water scraping and squeezing through bottlenecks. Should I disregard Kevlar? Oh, and I may be able to winter it under my crawl space depending on dimesions. If not it may be outside and tarped. Let’s hear it, thanks.

You’re right
the topic has been covered frequently and in depth. You should probably search the archives and see what you come up with. In the meanwhile I offer this summary:

1. Skin coat kevlar is not good for abrasion - it gets fuzzy. You want a layer of some other material as the outer layer, fiberglass and/or gelcoat are common.

2. If you’re gonna store outside you do not want wood gunwales.

3. If you store under a tarp, it needs airspace between the tarp and the hull.

4. A composite boat that meets your needs will not be the lightest composite you can find. Probably need to figure close to 50 pounds.

Peter

New vs used
If you’re looking new, and looking at Royalex, you have a rapidly closing window, since the material stopped being produced earlier this year, and most manufacturers have limited numbers of sheets left in stock.