Rudder on Magic, insane?

I’ve entertained the idea of putting a rudder on my Magic such as this one on a SR canoe: http://redrockstore.com/sourisrudder/index.htm

Reasons: Easier river & stream running, easier dealing with winds on lakes or just for fun.

I’d try to set it up for easy removal as I know that I wouldn’t want it on all of the time.

I may make one myself but I’d need ideas as to how it should be shaped, sized or styled. I’ve plenty of sheet metal experience but may consider making one from kevlar to lighten it up. It would probably be spring loaded to slide over underwater obstacles.

Would I be waisting my time?

go for it
There have been canoes around with rudders for along time. Besides Mr Krugers hulls there was a little manufacture up north that had them(Apple Canoes?) and The Water safari is big on them. After you get past the heckling it makes as much sense as a rudder in a kayak.

Charlie

Go for it (part two)

– Last Updated: Jan-15-04 4:36 PM EST –

I am playing with a spare feathercraft rudder I have to adapt it for my canoe. A good winter project. The SR rudder looks pretty low-drag. Nice profile.
I am always remembering the two guys in Krugers I saw on the lake once. They paddled on the port side all the way down the lake, making excellent speed.
That's why I am intrigued with the idea. If I can get a low area, low drag rudder that would give me correction for one-sided paddling, it would (ideally) compensate for the lost momentum of switching sides or J-stroking. Proper paddling technique takes care of river/stream manuevering.

why not?

– Last Updated: Jan-15-04 4:43 PM EST –

It's your boat. If you want a rudder on it, do it. You can probably figure out a decent rudder system yourself, but if you want to look at some ideas, you can check out the carbon fiber rudder plans on the One Ocean Kayaks website
http://www.oneoceankayaks.com/
and could also take a look at the book "Canoe Rig."