Rudder question

I took my new Tsunami 145 out for the first time today and loved it! I do have a problem with the rudder though. Because of my height I need the pegs all the way forward. The problem is I can not operate the rudder because I’m at the far forward limit and I can not move them back any further because my thighs are already hitting the thigh braces. I also can’t move the peg runners forward becuse they are at the bulkhead now. This never occurred to me when I was fitting the kayak. I have never used a rudder before so I was hoping someone had a suggestion on how to make this work.

Thanks,

Tim

What kind of system is it ?

good one
Ack. Sounds like what happened to me when i tried to fit into a Nimbus Njak at a demo day. I wonder if you could upgrade the cheap sliding footpegs/rails to the nice gas pedal style from Seaward or Prijon? Seaward’s machined aluminum pieces seem much stronger built than the plastic prijon controls but havent heard of any issues with either, i know the seaward system is great as i used it and absolutely loved it. if i keep my elaho i am getting seaward pegs for it.

Move the rails forward?
Just keep the screws and gaskets in there to cover the hole from the closer ones, and shift the rails forward to a new more forward location. We had that done with my husband’s first RM boat (skegged boat), as well as having mine moved back.

The one issue with this is that you may need a new, longer rudder cable, and I have no idea how complicated that is with the WS system. But a dealer may be able to help you with this part.

2 options
1st off make sure the rudder CABLES are long enough. are the sliders real close to the bulkhead. sometimes they end up messing up this length and it’s EZ as putting longer cables in.