Rudder Updates to CD Extreme?

I’m thinking about buying a CD extreme and am curious if anyone knows how the rudder is on this boat? I hear they recently updated it, was there a time it was awful? Are they replaceable?

I’ve been kayaking for a few years and just getting serious. I think this one will make a great upgrade from my Tsunami 140. Will it be too much to handle? Anyone have a better boat for me to try? (I’m 6’4" and have size 15 feet) I’ll be using it for day trips around the east coast and the occasional < 1 week camping trip.

Thanks for the help!

You’re my match
I’m 6’4 and size 15 feet at 190 lb and … just sold my Extreme.

For the rudder, make sure you at least have the SmartTrack foot rails and if you can the matching rudder blade. I would think they are upgradeable if yours does not come with it. I upgraded my sliding factory pedals with the SmartTrack pedals and wire but kept the factory rudder for $$$ reasons (about 1/2 price less the rudder compared to full system). The stock rudder seems to rob you of some speed…

As for fit, the pedals are a little lower than our 15 sized flappers would like them to be but there is enough deck room of them otherwise. The brackets that come with SmartTrack rails for repositioning the rails do not work in this boat - they can only lower the pedals but not raise them.

The boat is great but if you like to paddle with your knees together it won’t let you do this unless you move the seat back an inch or so. With knees under the braces it is a snug fit that works well for rough water. However, if you are much over 200lb dry weight, you may find the cockpit restrictive - a 6’4" 215 fellow paddler did and I think even for me it could be a little better designed for movement on flat water (fine for contact in rougher conditions though).

Fast boat that is most efficient at about 4.5 knots (very few are more efficient there, drag-wise) but at lower or higher speeds you may find more efficient craft.