Rutabaga in Madison, WI?

I’m new to Kayaking and will be passing through Madsion, WI next Saturday on my way to the Milwaukee airport. I won’t have a lot of time so I was wondering if you think it’s worth the vist? My wife will kill me if we miss our flight. :slight_smile:

Thanks.

It’s worth it

– Last Updated: Sep-16-05 1:49 PM EST –

but don't get killed missing your flight.

Yup
Not only worth it but if you are passing thru on the “belt line” it will only be about a six block detour. Easy off and back on to the belt line.

Oh yeah…
I was just there yesterday. I’m new to the sport as well and had heard great things about Rutabaga. My friend and I went down there and they were the best! John spent probably 4 or 5 hrs with us answering all our questions, explaining things, picking out gear, etc.

I would say leave early so you have a little extra time…that way you’re both happy :wink:

Go!
I passed through Madison this summer and found it easily, a short drive from the freeway…and well worth the stop!

While you’re in Madison…
… check out the city’s other outfitter, Carl & John’s Paddlin’ (paddlin.com). Great selection, highly competent staff and they’re having a sale from Sept. 23 - Oct. 2. I recently bought a Magic through them and drove up to pick it up… from western N.C. They’re good.

And no, I don’t work for them, I’m just a satisfied customer.

Lee

Agree
While Rutabaga is an absolutely great store and a very satisfying shopping experience, don’t miss out on Carl and Jon’s Paddling. Super nice people with a store that strikes me as a place still rooted in it’s long history of paddling. I don’t work there either by the way.

Rutabaga?
Only one of the finest toy stores around, and the staff seems to be doing what they can to keep the karmic wheel in balance. Good people.

Madison
You’re going to miss the flight…