Same canoe - Kevlar or Roaylex?

I am new to canoeing, would appreciate advice on buying a canoe. I test paddled a Wenonah Solo Plus Royalex canoe (weight ~60 lb). It felt stable to me, I am completely satisfied with how it handles. However, I’d like to buy a lighter canoe. I found the same canoe, also Wenonah Solo Plus, but the Kevlar Ultra Light model (weight 40lbs). I must make a decision whether to buy the kevlar model without trying it out. Is there any difference in how the kevlar canoe would feel on the water compared to the one I tried? Would it be less stable because of lighter weight, or can I expect the same paddling experience?

20 lbs difference
will make it float higher by perhaps .05 inch

Compared to a 150 lb you its infinitesimal difference.

Material depends on your intended use; you didn’t say where you want to paddle.

Royalex versus composite
In general, composite versions of canoes paddle a bit better than the Royalex versions. Royalex boats have quite a bit of flex and some of the power from paddle strokes goes into flexing the boat. Composite boats are nearly always significantly stiffer, although very light layups may have more flex than heavier ones.

In addition, composite boats can have much sharper lines than Royalex boats. Thermoformed plastic boats like Royalex ones simply can’t be shaped into sharp angles without weakening the material too much. So composite boats tend to have sharper stems that part the water more efficiently.

A 20lb weight difference should have very little effect on stability but I would expect that it would result in the composite boat accelerating somewhat more quickly from a dead stop.

Light weight comes at some price. Royalex is a pretty durable material. A Wenonah ultra-light boat should be fine for flat water use or for paddling unobstructed rivers. It might not be the best for paddling shallow or rocky streams, however.

Agreed

– Last Updated: Oct-21-16 10:36 AM EST –

Agreed with everything pblanc said.