Sanding glossy paddle shafts

Anyone sand their glossy paddle shafts to they’re not so slick when wet? I love my Onno and ZRE paddles, both of which have non-glossy shafts that have a soft feel when dry and seem to get stickier when wet.

My Epic small-mid wing, on the other hand, has a glossy shaft that gets pretty slippery when wet. I don’t feel like I can keep as relaxed a grip as I’d like. Today I wet sanded it with regular 600 grit (not P600). Only took a minute and the shaft feels pretty good. Haven’t had a chance to get it on the water yet. I’ll report back when I do.

So, anyone else? What grit do you use?

Alan

wet sanding paddle shafts
Alan,

According to Epic rep Brian Houston, Greg Barton wet sands his paddle shafts, so you are in good company.

I didn’t mind the glossy finish on my Epic carbon wings (mid and small mid) until I started practicing maximum effort sprints during interval training and had some trouble with my hands slipping. For touring it was never an issue.

I prefer to use 800 or 1000 grit. To make the job neater, I recommend masking off the area to be wet sanded first.

I recently ordered an ONNO small endurance wing, for ultra long distance racing (Watertribe events, etc) and look forward to trying it out. As you say, Patrick’s paddle shafts are wet sanded, but I don’t know what grit he uses.

Greg Stamer

Me and Greg
Good news. I’m sure the slippery paddle was the only thing keeping me from paddling at his level. Can’t wait to set the water on fire tomorrow!! :slight_smile:

Alan

I just grab up some sand from the
riverbank, and wet sand with my hand. Even after wet sanding, these surfaces can take up hand oils, and may need cleaning during an outing.

My Question is …So Greg does it to
his own … So why sell every one of them with a thick, heavy, glossy surface ???

Same thing David Mitchell once told me