Sandy Hook, New Jersey

I’ve been kayaking for a few years and I’m thinking that I need to upgrade my gear. I have a plan with a friend for this summer to kayak from Sandy Hook to Coney Island. I’m basically just asking for advice as to what kind of kayak I should buy. I also would like to get a GPS

Lots of options but one course of action
Test Paddle

While I’m going to be biased towards the brands I carry (P&H, Valley, North Shore and Venture, along w used/consignment kayaks) there are a lot of model suggestions for which I’m sure others will chime in on. Putting boats on water will be the only way to determine which combination of features best click with you and your kayaking goals.

A 2 hour drive north of you brings you my Boathouse on the Hudson.

Let me know when you’d like to make a day trip.

See you on the water,

Marshall

The River Connection, Inc.

Hyde Park, NY

www.the-river-connection.com

hudsonriverpaddler.org

many could work
Many kayaks could work. The distance is not that great (looks like maybe 5 miles), but it is open water. Absolute no no to me would be a recreational class or white water class boat. I think most people would automatically lean toward a touring/sea kayak class kayak, but a reasonably efficient sit on top could likely also work.

If you are not sure about the different categories of kayaks, check out the article in the Spring 2013 issue (#10) of California Kayaker Magazine - can be read online at http://www.calkayakermag.com/magazine.html.

I don’t know your experience level - the bigger concern for me is that crossing would be crossing the big ship channel. Lots of added risks to this. Also, very likely that stretch would be impacted (possibly heavily) by tidal currents.

sandy hook
I did a couple efforts out there recently–not all the way across to Coney Island. The boat I used was the Valley Aquanaut----17.4 by 22.