Santee 116 Sport vs. Pungo 120

I have been paddling a Pungo 120 for the last 7 years and this spring was thinking about getting a new kayak. I take my Carin terrier dog with me all the time so a large cockpit is a must. I am leaning to the Santee 116 Sport as it weighs around 36 pounds which for my age(close to 60) will help loading and portages.

I stick to flat water and slow moving rivers and camp regularly. I do seem to scrape the bottom of my boat a lot. My Pungo looks well worn on the bottom.

Any comments on this? I guess you could say I like the boat for its looks, material difference, and weight compared to the Pungo. There are two sealed bulkheads also on the Santee. But will I like how it paddles compared to the Pungo?

You might say wait for a demo day and try it but REI has 20% off one item until 3/10 and in my area no demo day available.

Thanks, Tom

P.S. My other reason for a new boat is that now I will have two and I can take someone kayaking with me if they do not have a kayak. :slight_smile:

REI
Buy it from REI. Have friend with you to load it on the car and be careful not to scratch it. Take it to a lake and set it into the water about knee deep before you get in and try not to scratch it. Take a paddle in it.

I don’t think it will be as fast as your Pungo 120 but few 12 foot boats are and this one is a little shorter than that. But it will be lighter and on a lot of days you’ll choose to take your light boat because it is easier to load. I know I do this even if the light boat is not the best.

If you hate it, then carefully take it back to REI. They have a very generous return policy and they’ll order you a nice pungo if you want two.

Also consider getting a cart at REI. I like the C tug cart but there are many good carts. If you get a cart that will balance the boat from the middle then the only strain from loading and launching will be sliding the boat up onto the car from the back.