Sciatic Nerve Pain Solutions

-- Last Updated: Jun-09-14 4:23 PM EST --

I am getting more into running easy whitewater -- 1 thru the occasional easy 3s. The one issue that has always plagued me kayaking is what I believe to be sciatic nerve pain. I am fine as long as I have some support right under the top of my thighs, either with a seat that raises or one of those Sealine thigh support pillows.

I am just getting ready to start to use a Remix XP10 as my whitewater kayak this season. For my build the XP 10 fits just right and snug (not sure I could go any smaller). On my one flatwater trip with it I was using the Sealine pillow but with the center support beam I felt a bit too locked in as a beginner WW kayaker. I probably would still be able to wet exit but probably lose the pricey pillow.

Any other suggestions beyond just rolling up cheap towels? I was considering knee blocks or maybe trying to glue some foam right in front of the seat but I have zero experience gluing in or shaping foam. I see that Padz makes knee blocks, which I was thinking of trying and that they also make a thigh pads but just from the picture it is hard to get a sense how the thigh pads would work (no real sense of scale).

I want to avoid feeling too locked in - I already fell like a have a good snug fit as it is.

Pool noodle
Some cases of sciatica resolve over time. I’ve had it several times and it always goes away in a couple of months.

I don’t know anything about whitewater kayaks. For a sea kayak an easy solution for leg support is to buy a large-diameter pool noodle at the dollar store, cut two pieces the length of the the front of your seat, tape the two pieces together for more height (might be about 5" high), and secure it at the front of the seat.

Any other type of foam will work as well. For just one leg you can also inflate a dry bag and tuck it under your knee.

Thanks
Maybe since I don’t have a pool I never think about pool noodles.