Scratch and chip prevention.

-- Last Updated: Mar-06-05 9:34 AM EST --

I'm a rookie kayaker and I'm brainstorming here, so bear with me.
I live in Northern Utah and plan on paddling primarily for fitness on lakes for the next few months. I anticipate 2-4 hour workouts 3-4 days a week to start. It's mainly small rocks and sand where I'll be launching, and 50 yards to the water.
My goal is delay as many chips and scratches as possible.

What if I cut myself one or two pieces of old carpet, lets say a 12-18 inches wide by
6'-8' long or maybe 2 pieces... or whatever it takes.
After I take my new QCC 700X (which is scheduled to arrive this week) off the truck and down to the H2O. I could unroll one or two pieces of old carpet and set the boat down on top of it. After I put the boat in the H2O I quickly roll up the carpet and stuff it under the cockpit or perhaps in a hatch.
This way my boat would primarily touch only the H2O, my Mako Saddles w/felt pads and the carpet.

And again I'm brainstorming and I realize my boat will experience plenty of wear and tear through the years.

What do you think?

Good idea or pain in the a**.

Anybody else out there do anything like this?

What to the "hardcore racers" do to protect the bottoms of race boats?

I'm open to feedback or suggestions.

Thanks Craig.

Bubble wrap

– Last Updated: Mar-06-05 9:48 AM EST –

and don't take it off - you'll probably never get a scratch. Look - if it makes you happy, try it. I'm fussy about my QCC600 but the bottom has plenty of scratches so I try to keep the bottom down and my head up so I don't see it.

A glass boat
should last about 20 years in the mild conditions you describe.

Forget about perfection and paddle.