sea kayaker safety article

OK, I finally got my hands on the issue of Sea Kayaker with the safety article that I promised to give details of about a week ago. Let me preface by saying that I’m a relative newbie kayaker, so I have no experience with most of the rescues or conditions the article describes, so I can’t comment. I am just sharing what I thought was an interesting read. It’s a long article but I’ll try to make it as concise as possible.

This article is about two kayak instructors, John and Mick, who set out to the Triangle of Georgia’s Tybee Island to practice their skills. Air temp was high 50’s, water low 60’. Wind between 25 and 35 knots. Mick had a wetsuit bottom and a semi-dry top. John had a full drysuit. They checked the weather forecast and knew what to expect. They carried flares, VHS radio, cell phone, water, food, extra clothing, emergency shelter, flask with hot water, 2 spare paddles, 2 hand and 1 foot pump, deck and hand compasses, and a chart.

Launching in 6 foot waves, they found that paddling at 10 degrees off of perpendicular to the waves was ideal for getting through big dumping surf. Mick had a spare paddle on his front deck, and going through the breakers drove one of the shafts into his chest so hard that if it weren’t for the pfd he’d have a hole there. John’s spare was on his aft deck, but notes that since that gets in the way of reentries and towing, he now keeps them on the front deck in a paddle holder.