Sea Kayaking Helmet

What are the guidelines for selecting a good kayak surfing helmet. I am looking at the new Bern Watts helmet. Initially I was going with the large which has some looseness but I figured this was good if I wore a skull cap in the winter. Problem is it presses down on my ears which is uncomfortable. The medium is comfortable but snug,definitely no room for a cap.

Other than a bike helmet I have never used one before.

Thanks ahead,

Paul

WRSI Helmets are the best value…
About $75 for a multiple impact plastic helmet.

Very adjustable in size, due to 3 sets of various foam, plus shims.

The WW crowd loves them… for a reason.

http://www.whitewaterhelmet.com/

Loose fitting helmet with visor
Is not something you want in surf.

Prototec makes helmets that work just fine for surfing.

You want the helmet to fit snuggly so it does not move around. If you are paddling out through breaking heavy surf you soon give up on the visor models. I use a Gath Gedi… does not have as much impact protection, but also puts lets stress on your neck and head, keeps your head warm too. Takes a beating …and still is fine.

second the WRSI
it’s my favourite after trying a few. i was able to dial in the best overall fit, and the straps and all the components are very high quality compared to many more expensive helmets. excellent design. sometimes i wish for a larger bill, a la Sweet Strutter for sun and rain, but overall this is likely the wiser choice.

Third the WRSI

– Last Updated: May-11-08 11:22 PM EST –

You'll eventually realize that you need one for colder and one for warmer water and temps (less and more hood), and the WRSI does a great job of handling all of it for a very rational price.

Gath is also great, very comfy, different price tag though. I've had two Protecs, the second with really full and generous cover forehead etc, but the headache I get after a few hours is splitting. My head with a hood and their sizing doesn't seem to line up.