Seating System for Zephyr

I’m looking for a kayak for day-tripping and short camping trips on Lake Tahoe (& hopefully, other high Sierra lakes!). I’m pretty new to kayaking and at 5’5", 130#, I’ve about decided the WS Zephyr 155 is right for me. My concern is that I don’t like the backband as it seems to sit too low for me. The backband in the Perception is more comfortable, but the boat is heavier than I want. Is it fairly easy to change the seating or backband in the Zephyr? Thanks for your thoughts!

yes
You can change backbands in most boats without any problems. However, the reason sea kayaks have low backbands is so that they don’t get in your way. A tall seat back prevents you from rotating effectively, and it also makes it very difficult to get back into your boat during a rescue.

I know this is a tangent, but the Zephyr struck me as a really loose-fitting boat to me (I’m 6’, 185#). If you’re interested in paddling lakes like Tahoe, and want to grow your skills (bracing, rolling, etc) I think you might have trouble with the very large cockpit in the Zephyr.

Size
The Zephyr is a sweet boat and one of my favorites. I’d own one if I didn’t already have something that’s equally as fun. I’d have to disagree with Nate about the fit. I actually know people your size who fit fine in the 155 version of the boat. Also, I believe that Karen Knight is paddling one now, and she’s your size. Plus, it’s easy to add outfitting foam to snug up the fit if you need it.

About the backband, you’ll get used to it. My suggestion is to try it out for your first 5 or 6 longer paddles and see if you get used to the lower backband. I suspect that you will. If not, then switch it out. Boats are easily customizeable, so you should have any issues fixing any problems.

Fit in Z 155

– Last Updated: Jul-17-11 11:11 PM EST –