Seattle paddling wardrobe

Greetings, I am a novice paddler currently living in the Seattle, WA area. I used to live in SF Bay Area (east bay) but moved here in 2020.

I’m looking to get more into kayaking, especially because the waterways around here are downright stunning (I mean beautiful, but I know they are also cold). Particularly sea kayak touring interests me since I live in West Seattle right near Puget Sound and Elliot Bay (although I’m also excited to explore the lakes). I have enjoyed the sport in the past as I’ve rented kayaks both here and in CA, HI.

I’m signed up for NWOC’s Fundamentals of Sea Kayaking course this April so I hope to get a solid foundation from that (I suspect I will, the guy sounded very knowledgable on the phone and folks on this forum seem to like NWOC). It being about a dozen hours of instruction on the water of Lake Union and Deception Pass sounds like a great way to build skills.

Since reading this forum and learning more about kayaking, the most challenging topic for me is dressing for the situation. I am a software engineer who is not used to thinking too much about what I wear, and while I do keep warm enough when I hike or go for a walk in winter, dressing for immersion while staying comfortable seems far more daunting a task. Even in the case of hiking and long walks in cold weather I get clammy so I may not even be dressing well for those things!

I would like to start building up a versatile kayaking wardrobe, both since I need underlayers for the drysuit included in the course but also just for my own general kayaking use in the water around here. I don’t want to decide on buying a drysuit until after the course, as I suspect after using it for a number of hours I’ll either see its immense value or I’ll think it’s an overpriced, uncomfortable bag of cloth. More likely the former, but I am naturally a bit averse to things that are tight at my neck.

Some specific questions: