Securing gear in a canoe

Ok, I’m still new at this canoe tripping thing and still have some questions. When loading your gear in a canoe, is it better tie it down of just leave it unsecured. Obviously, if you tip, you’re going to lose some or all of it if it’s unsecured. On the other hand, I’ve tried to right and manuever overturned canoes that are fully loaded. That’s not much fun and perhaps,impossible in some cases.

Your advice is appreciated.

I tie everything in.
I figure I will have to get to shallow water to empty the canoe anyway. With the gear all there I won’t have to chase it down later.

if you

– Last Updated: Sep-01-07 11:38 AM EST –

have flotation bags installed you can tuck gear underneath them and it shouldn't escape even if you tip, but the downside is you won't be able to access it quickly. Then you can tie off the rest of your gear requiring quicker access to thwarts etc.

St

We always tie ours in.
On a multiday wilderness trip I would much rather wrestle with it all attaced to the overturned canoe, then loose some of the stuff that is a necessity.

Use velcro straps on the little stuff, and rope on the bigger gear.

Cheers,

JackL

Cliff and Bill
Use single tie-downs about 6 feet long for lake and mild white water. Makes recovery easy not tieing and untieing at each portage. I use to securely tie all in a criss-cross pattern, but generally not needed. Big time savings.

I would never
use 6 ’ ties in ww. They become a serious entanglement hazard ie- boat flips, you get tie wrapped around your leg, cant swim away from boat,boat wraps around rock,boat with ± 1000lbs of water pins you, game over (seen it happen! poor guy ended up with a hardwear store in his femur) :frowning:

If you want to tie gear in I sugest you bag every thing and tie it to your thwarts, or in the case of stuff you need quick access to tie it on short (2’) lanyards you can snap easily in an emergency

Tie it in unless you want to lose gear.