Seeking a Western US Multiday river trip

Greetings,

I’m looking for a multi-day river or river+lake trip in the Western US. I’ve done the Green in Utah (Here: http://thedamntrueexperiment.blogspot.com/2010/12/blog-post.html ) and though I’ve thought about the Sacramento and the Willamette I think I’d prefer something a bit more remote.

I’ve no WW experience though so class I-II would be the max I’d be comfortable messing with on a solo and very little of the class II.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

True

Flathead?

– Last Updated: Mar-29-13 10:06 AM EST –

I just sat in on a trip report given by some guys who went last summer. I've never been, but it sounds like it might work for you. It's pretty remote, and they emphasized several times that there was nothing over class II except for some gorges that were not necessary to run.

canoe trip

– Last Updated: Mar-31-13 4:49 PM EST –

Upper Missouri, MT 150 miles from Ft Benton to Kipp Bridge.
Green River, UT
John Day River, OR
Snake River, ID
Yellowstone River, MT
North Platte River, WY
Colorado River, CO

Missouri Breaks Montana 3-5+ days
http://wn.com/upper_missouri_river_breaks_national_monument

One of the best flat water paddle trips in the Lower 48.

Unchanged since Lewis and Clark. Great camps, sceanery, history, wilflife and more.

how many days ?
two days is “multi-day” so’s 22 days

how long a trip are you looking for? - that makes a diff in what to recommend - I’ll just add a few more suggestions

The Smith River in MT would work - its a permitted river, but you could check for mid-week openings or cancellations (probably not good for mid-summer - might get too low)- generally a 5 to 7 day trip at CII