Seeking opinions on bulkheads

I would appreciate opinions on the use of high density 2" single cell foam for bulkheads in a 16’ sea kayak. I know this is done by several high end kayak manufacturers. Pros and cons please. I am a long time professional boat builder and serious sea kayaker who will indulging a personal passion by building a limited number of high end kayaks each year.

well now…
100% bombproof sealing is hard to achieve with foam. In time they all come loose.

It is nice because it is soft and creates no stress risers.

Personally I like glassed in bulkheads.

steve

Used it in my
Pungo 100, worked great. Cuts easy with a band saw and fine tuned it with sanding block.

http://www.olympus.ofoto.com/BrowsePhotos.jsp?&collid=725800230105&page=1&sort_order=0

depends
on what the hull is made out of and the shape of the hull

Just add fore and aft…
…bulkheads on my Dagger Savannah. Got the 3" foam precut parts from Dagger. I used “Lexel” sealant to install. It is fairly easy to work with. Fingers dipped in soapy water allow nice smoothing of the Lexel bead. Working inside the boat is a little tight for some of the angles; but doable.

Does it work? I mean are the compartments dry? I don’t know yet. The Lexel needs to cure 2-4 weeks. So I won’t know for another 10 days. But it looks pretty good.

If your building…
Then you will more than likely be creating patterns, maintaining epoxy and dispensing pumps, pre-cutting panels, chines, decks or frames etc. Raw materials in some quantity at hand… 4 or 6 mm ply and 2 inch fiberglass tape would be light and leak proof. You can make patterns for fore and aft bulkheads, install them as a stage in the construction process. Foam works great for after-market and it can be installed leak proof but the labor would be same or greater than built-ins done during contruction.

What boats are you going to be building? Do you have a website up?

bulkheads