Seizing up

I am a newbie that currently kayaks appox 10-11kms a day…I feel good out on the water but once I go to get out of the kayak I find I am seized up in the groin and find it really hard to get moving. Any suggestions/ideas on how to prevent this? I have tried stretching out or moving my legs around while on the water but to no avail

Sounds to me like you need to do more.
exercises when you are out of the kayak

Like sit-ups and squats on a daily basis

jack L

Ok
Thanks for that…been walking, swimming and biking to build up leg strength. Been at it about three months now with only missing a couple of days of exercising so frustrating that I still seize up

do your legs tingle?
I have never heard of seizing up at the groin - can you provide more description? Do your legs tingle and fall asleep?

I do 30 sit-ups every
two years

Do you use your foot pegs and rotate from the waist?

Not unusual
It might take a lot more time in the cockpit before your muscles throughout your body become fully accustomed to the activity. Years ago, I used to have to roll up a towel to rest my thighs on and when I would change kayaks, my back would protest the new seat and so on. Eventually, everything got used to the long periods in the saddle and it doesn’t matter which kayak I’m in now.

Most of my paddling buddies have been through the same thing and some never really make the full transition.

I don’t know if there is really anything that will speed up the process, but lots of exercise can’t hurt. Don’t forget to keep hydrated.

Just a thought…
I’m not really sure what you’re experiencing, so this is just generally a good idea.

There is a concept that I picked up as a beginner, and I’ve just recently heard it taught still. The idea is that you use your legs, put some pressure, push your back into that backrest.