Self rescue questions

I am a little new to kayaking in rough open water with big waves. I am finding self rescue to be challenging. I do not have any instructors available to me now, so I am trying to learn by youtube and articles. Yes, yes, I know that an instructor would be best so let’s skip those comment for now.

Here are some questions:

1: During wet exit recovery, would it be more efficient to pump the water out of the cockpit BEFORE getting back into the kayak? Most instructions show getting into the kayak when it the cockpit is full of water. The kayak is so unstable with water in it, I wonder…

2: When you are entering the kayak after a wet exit, what side should your paddle with the float go on? Toward the oncoming waves or leeward? Is it best to point the bow of the kayak INTO the waves with the paddle/float 90% to the waves? All the instructions I have seen are done in swimming pool or calm lake without this detail pointed out.

Thanks

Flip the kayak upside down

– Last Updated: Aug-24-16 8:21 PM EST –

to dump the water if needed, then right it and do the rest. But in some boats you can skip that because they don't scoop enough water if you don't recapsize that it matters. Three of the household sea kayaks wok that way

And you should be able to paddle with a bit of water sloshing around in the boat. You should not need bone dry. Because when the is sea is lumpy, it is not going you the right conditions to bone dry. You may have to paddle a bit to find them.

As to in waves, most I know would go for cowboy or wet reenter and roll (you can use the paddle float to help) over the garden variety paddle paddle float reentry.

Another Thread
Here’s a thread from a while back with the same basic question.

http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=1715453

For me:
1. I always pump as much water out of the boat as I can while I am still in the water.

You are correct; the boat will be much more stable with those few inches out.