Self rescue

I’m new to kayaking… Almost all of my paddling has been in lakes. I’ve seen many videos on how to do a self rescue in a SOT kayak however, all of these videos have shown how to preform this in still water.

This weekend I found out the hard way that doing a self rescue in a river was totally different, at least for me. Fighting the current while trying to get back on your kayak is not the same as on a lake. If it weren’t for the people I was with, I hate to think what would have happened.

Are there any tips on how to get back in your kayak while in swift water?? Or what to do if you do dump while in a river?

Ver different on the river…
In open water, you often have no choice but to get back into your boat from the water. On a river it’s usually easier and safer to swim to shore, and get back into your boat from there. The trick is to get to shore with your boat, paddle and other gear. When swimming in a river you also need to be concerned about rocks, strainers and other obstacles that aren’t an issue in open water. Here are are few steps if you swim in a river:

• Hold on to your paddle, and the boat if your can. If you are paddling with others they will usually grab your boat, but paddles have a way of disappearing if you don’t hold on to them.

• Get to the upstream side of your boat - you don’t want to get pinned in the current between a rock and the boat.

• Assume the safe swimming position - on your back with your feet near the surface and pointed downstream. This allows you to see rocks and other obstructions and use your feet to bounce off them.

• Don’t stand up until your butt hits the ground - especially in strong current where foot entrappment is a significant hazard.

• If you are getting swept into a strainer (tree in the river) flip over to your stomack with your head downstream so you can pull yourself up on to the strainer rather than getting swept under it. You never want to swim under a strainer.