Senoir paddlers

Wonder how many senior paddlers out there? It might be an interesting thread. I’m a youngest of 65. FishHawk

Senoir Paddlers
This is my first year on the water and I am 61. Kayak is put away for the winter and just waiting for spring. Ice is on the lakes here in Iowa but there is some water moving on the Des Moines River below the dam. Every New Years day a group of paddlers will take to the river and have a blast.

There was a recent thread in which PNet folks were asked to reveal their ages so that an average age could be calculated. Lots of folks responded and the average age was somewhere near 50. I will turn 60 next May

so what you are saying is
this is the sport we all take up when our knees give us too much trouble to do anything else? :wink:

Took up paddling this year
and just turned 70.

Doc

Age Is A State of Mind
I don’t know about the “senior” part, but I am a paddler who happens to be 67. My paddling activities include expedition style sea kayaking as well as surfing both a wave ski and a surf kayak. And as of this last summer, I added white water kayaking to my paddling resume.

when your
white water/ surf paddling are unintentional, then maybe you’re old?

I would have answered this earlier but I lost time looking for my spectacles so I could find my Geritol and Vitamins so I would have the energy to sit still for 5 minutes.

I’m a young’un at “almost sixty”(MAR06) but as I told my sister last year when the subject of age came up “Age is in the eyes of the beholder and I be holding my age very well”.

Merry Christmas and stay safe on the water,

Cal

I didn’t respond since…
I didn’t want to tilt the average.

Cheers,

JackL

I Dunno
what age constitutes becomming a senior. I started getting junk mail from AARP several years ago. I think paddling the last year has made me younger, I certainly feel that way.

Merry Christmas, and Happy Paddling,

Mark

I find that the biggest problem…