setting up a Wenonah Odyssey for 4

Greetings all. I’m new here, and relatively new to paddling.

I’ve been researching canoes for 3-4 months trying to determine what would best suit our needs, and I landed on a Wenonah Odyssey in great shape, and we’re anxious to put it to use.

For those unfamiliar, my understanding is that it’s basically a “dryer” MN II with more freeboard and a different gunwale arrangement to control spray.

Our intended usage is day tripping and 3-4 day camping trips on occasion.

Along with our gear, we’re a family of 2 adults and our 2 daughters (7 and 5)

I’ve never camped out of a canoe before, so I’m seeking expert advice here on how to place seats for the kids without interfering too much with cargo space – comfort for them is a pretty high priority, because if you’re uncomfortable you’re not having fun.

I really like the idea of Ed’s youth tandem seat, but I’m not sure of fitment, rider comfort, etc.

One girl is a lefty, the other is right handed, so I’m assuming this arrangement could work for paddling.

http://www.edscanoe.com/yotase.html

I come in about 185, my wife 125. I’m the more experienced paddler, so I should probably be riding stern, but I’m also the one with muscle — so my thought was I’d have to take the bow and my kids should ride on the tandem arrangement placed just behind the yoke. Then we could start placing gear to balance the load.

Is my thinking correct?

Ed’s told me that that tandem seat “can be cut down to 32”

Each seat is approximately 12"x9" with a 5" space between the seats. "

I’m a little concerned that my boat might not accommodate this seat. I’m really not sure.

Does anyone here have any experience with them on an MN II or similar?

Another concern I had was those times where one kid goes but not the other. Is that going to present a problem?

As time goes on my 7 year old will move to her own boat, but until then we need to make this work.

Old Town seat