Sharks

I’m sure this is a subject that bring eye rolls to many paddlers, but hear me out. I’ve been paddling for several years now and always had a little anxiety of encountering a great white in my journeys, but seeing as how I typically keep to the north shore of Massachusetts I have felt largely safe. This upcoming season I really would love to explore the Monomoy Islands off of Chatham, but as those of you who may be familiar with the area, those waters are the literal hotbed of great white populations in the region. Combine my irrational fear with pictures/videos of these might creatures BREACHING, not just in some far away place, but in the exact waters I wish to go is dissuading to trying this trip.
Any advice, tips, or stories from anyone familiar with this area? The idea of this thread is to put my mind at ease, but I’ll take good or bad, if I really should find somewhere else I’d like to know that as well.

Stay away from seals and fish schools. If your boat is one with the “fish scale” carbon fiber , clear with the weave visible you may look like bait in some light conditions. (Esp night) Same with carbon fiber paddles. Spinners will go after the paddles. If you see of hear of GW feeding or sightings don’t go close for pictures.

Follow your heart don’t go it won’t be fun if you’re worrying.

Very little chance of a bad encounter. Go in a group as it is always best for other safty reasons as well. What’s that kayak saying Go to sea take Three. Also you might pick a season when they aren’t as active.
But if you have a lot of concern pdog is right it won’t be fun.

Get a bang stick.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Powerhead

First, how real is the risk? I went through a list of unprovoked shark attack deaths to see how often Massachusetts shows up, and the first listing I found was from the 1930s. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fatal,_unprovoked_shark_attacks_in_the_United_States