Shearwater repair ?

I have just acquired an expedition kevlar Swift Shearwater that was damaged on a river ledge. The main area of damage has been repaired but on inspecting the boat yesterday I discovered a “soft” area in the turn of the bilge that runs from the repair back about 18 inches and is about 3 inches wide. There are some gel coat cracks, not through and through. How do I best go about stiffening this area up? I have no experience with composite repair, though I suppose I’ll be acquiring some. Thanks in advance.

Joe

What do you mean by “soft”?
Can you actually feel the area move when you push on it? When they did the earlier repair, did they put gelcoat over it (pretty but pointless), or can you see the cloth in the repair? Can you see visual signs of disruption of the Kevlar layers on the inside of the boat?

Someone will jump in and suggest you reinforce the area with a Kevlar felt skid plate, but that would detract from the Shearwater’s efficient hullform.

I suggest getting hold of some 6 oz E-glass or S-glass and some West epoxy in cans with metering pumps. You won’t use much of the epoxy, but you’ll have it around in case you decide to run ledges in a composite lake boat. (I’ve done it, and made the repairs later.) I’ll get back for your info on the nature of the damage.

The earlier repair…
was a fiberglass mat on the inside of the hull and gel coat on the outside. It was a fairly extensive repair and appears to be very strong. The soft area actually flexes when you push on it. If you can picture going over the ledge, the initial impact caused the damaged area which has been repaired. The soft area was probably caused by continuing over the ledge with the right bilge dragging along. The softness is about 18 inches or so long and 3 or so inches wide. I believe the boat had a pretty good load in it. What I picture is a strip of kevlar or glass of ? layers on the inside of the boat, then gel coat the outside. Does this sound right?

Sorry