Shipping my kayak to florida.

I am considering shipping my kayak to Florida this fall. I visit Florida a time or two each winter. I would like to ship it to some friends of mine and then have it there to use whenever I go down.

What are my options?

Thanks

Jim

Forward Air probably the cheapest way
And since you get to pack it yourself you can make sure it is as safe as possible. I’d still definitely insure it though. Bring a camera when you pick it up to document any damages and make sure they are noted on the invoice before you sign.

Or you could just buy a new kayak in Florida…

Buy one there
or get a folding kayak. If your boat is not plastic, avoid Forward Air. They break boats. Lots of them.

It is plastic…
… and I’ve been beating the hell out of it for 5 years. I am just curious if shipping it down is cheaper than renting one for a week or so once I get there.

Also, is ground transportation an option?

Jim

Reasonale week long kayak rental
$200-250.

Shipping with Forward Air fraught with issues–see bowler1’s recent post.

Folder is a good option, esp if you plan to go places other than FL.

If you plan to stay in FL often and have a friend’s place to store it, esp since you are talking about a beater plastic yak, I would peruse eBay and Pnet and Craigslist and simply buy one locally just before you get there. Putting the $250 (and likely more) shipping or rental fee towards the boat itself is mooney well spent.

Enjoy FLorida.

Consider the Consequences
Florida is where old boats go to die. And other things too.

When I was in college a good friend’s father kept his old sun-dried plastic canoe at my house. In exchange he let me occasionally use it. Of course I was the one who happenned to be using it when it split open and was totalled. Then this comfortable retired guy had the nerve to make me replace it on my college income.